PTA Overview

The Q2L PTA originated in the autumn of 2008 with a small group of parents from the founding class who wanted to help our school. Since then, our school has grown and so has our PTA, which serves both the Middle and Upper School. All parents/caregivers are welcome and encouraged to participate.


PTA Officers 2018-2019

Co-Presidents: Gayle Scott Hajian and Sylvia Bernardo
Vice Presidents: Gigi Solis
Recording Secretary: Marisol Roman
Treasurer: Nancy Cashman


PTA Mission Statement

The mission of the Q2L PTA is to support community building initiatives and fundraising goals in service of the students and faculty. These goals are designed in conjunction with the administration and the teachers, which is a collaboration we cherish. Additionally, we are fortunate to have extraordinary students at Quest and, more often than not, those students are the by-products of even more extraordinary parents/caregivers. The Quest community is creative, innovative and a joy to be a part of.


How to Get Involved

Community service is for grownups, too! It takes a village and we have a wonderful group of parents who participate in any number of ways, from potluck donations to running community building events for the students, for the families and, sometimes, just for the adults (because they deserve to have fun too!) If you have energy and enthusiasm, there is a place for you! Many of the current volunteer offerings were parent-led initiatives. A list of these opportunities will be provided.

Support the Q2L Parent Association


Q2L Merchandise From The Q2L PTA!

Click Here for More Info

Funds raised thus far 2018-2019.

Funds raised in 2017-2018.

School Leadership Team (SLT) Overview

School Leadership Teams are vehicles for developing school-based educational policies, and ensuring that resources are aligned to implement those policies. SLTs assist in the evaluation and assessment of a school’s educational programs and their effects on student achievement. SLTs play a significant role in creating a structure for school-based decision making, and shaping the path to a collaborative school culture. New York State Education Law Section 2590-h requires every New York City Public School to have a School Leadership Team.

The Quest to Learn SLT is responsible for assisting the school in fulfilling its mission: to provide a learning environment that will inspire and challenge all of our students to become independent system thinkers, problem solvers and lifelong learners, and to work as a collaborative unit of parents, faculty and staff to ensure that all children reach their academic, social and wellness goals. In addition, SLT team members are responsible for: participating in the development and review of the Comprehensive Educational Plan (CEP); ensuring that the budget is aligned to support the CEP; working collaboratively with team members to share ideas and concerns ,and listening to the ideas and concerns of others; engaging in collaborative problem-solving that will lead to consensus-based decisions that meet the needs of all students; sharing the views of their constituencies with the team; and engaging in conflict resolution processes when necessary.

The core members of the team shall be the Principal, United Federation of Teachers (UFT) Chapter Chairperson and the Parent Association or Parent Teacher Association (PA/PTA) President or Co-President or their designees. The remaining members of the team  consist of:

  • 2 Upper School parents
  • 2 Lower School parents
  • 1 Upper School teacher
  • 1 Lower School teacher
  • 1 staff member or community member
  • 2 Upper School students

The SLT Members for the 2017-18 academic year are:

  • Principal – Nick Jurman
  • UFT Representative – Rachelle Vallon
  • Representing the PTA President:  Sylvia Bernardo
  • Parent – Title 1 Representative – Nicholas Day
  • Middle School Parent – Jenny Foxe
  • Middle School Parent – Fern Robles
  • Upper School Parent – Elizabeth Kachur
  • Upper School Parent – Lisa Lamb
  • Upper School Parent – Marisol Roman
  • UFT Representative – Hallie Glickman
  • UFT Representative – David Micevic
  • UFT Representative – Rosinna Aviles
  • UFT Representative – Alexa Kaplan
  • DC-37 Representative – William Moyet
  • Student Representative –  SGO – TBA
  • Student Representative –  NHS – Zachary Seow